Experiment in Dyeing: A review of RIT and iDye Poly Dyes

22 Apr

An Experiment in Dyeing-5
An Experiment in Dyeing-2
An Experiment in Dyeing-6
Top: Charlotte Russe (similar)
Skirt: DIY (similar/similar)
Shoes: Steve Madden
Bracelet: Anna and Ava
Bag: Dooney and Bourke
Earrings: c/o Jami
Sunglasses: c/o ZeroUV

Recognize this skirt? How about if I told you that it used to be a different color?

beforeafter
I completely love this skirt to pieces, so I was heartbroken when I spilled on it and I couldn’t get the stain out, no matter what I tried. So I decided to try something I hadn’t before; I thought that I’d try to dye it. I picked up a box of RIT dye in purple and hoped to get it to a radiant orchid color.

And despite the box saying clearly that the dye wasn’t recommended on 100% polyester, I tried it anyway. Lesson in following directions. After almost an hour I ended up with a still mostly pink skirt with lavender blotches all over.

Luckily I was able to find some iDye Poly at Joanns, which is meant specifically for polyester fabrics, and it worked amazingly well. The color was absorbed almost instantaneously, and all the stains (both the initial ones, and the ones I created by attempting to dye with the wrong kind of dye) disappeared. So while my skirt may not be Radiant Orchid, I’m completely in love with the vibrant purple color and am so glad I can keep wearing it.

4 Responses to “Experiment in Dyeing: A review of RIT and iDye Poly Dyes”

  1. Kristina April 23, 2014 at 7:55 am #

    This turned out so pretty! I’ve never thought to dye pieces that get stained, I always just get rid of them. Will have to try!

    Kristina does the Internets

    • Mega R. April 25, 2014 at 6:34 pm #

      Normally me too! But I did not want to let this piece go, so I figured why not give it a shot. Worst case scenario I would have been out a couple bucks and had to throw it out like I would have otherwise. Definitely give it a shot, and let me know how it goes šŸ™‚

  2. lifeunrefined April 23, 2014 at 6:49 pm #

    I LOVE the new purple color! Did you dye it using your washing machine, or in the sink? I’ve been wanting to dye some of my clothes but am a little scared.

    Jen
    http://www.lifeunrefined.com

    • Mega R. April 25, 2014 at 6:33 pm #

      I dyed it on a pot on the stove :). This was my first time and I found it to be easier than I thought it would be. The only real thing that bugged me was the smell. The poly dye smells really strong so do it on a warm day when you can open all the windows. Also make sure to get the proper dye for your fabric and it should go pretty quickly! I’d love to see if you end up dying something.

      Mega

Leave a Reply

