To Tuck or Not To Tuck?

10 Apr

To Tuck or Not To Tuck-5

To Tuck or Not To Tuck-4

To Tuck or Not To Tuck-6

To Tuck or Not To Tuck-3
Tank: Forever 21
Blazer: H&M
Pants: H&M
Sunglasses: c/o ZeroUV
Shoes: Jessica Simpson (similar)

My first instinct is to tuck most things in. It emphasizes the waistline and I feel like it always makes an outfit look more polished. So when I bought these pants almost a month ago, I immediately wanted to tuck drapey tops in. There were two problems with that:

  1. Tucking emphasized the significant amount of fabric around my hips, making these otherwise cute pants unflattering on me.
  2. Since the waist of the pants was lower, tucking in a loose top also meant that the skinniest part of me that you could see was where my pants hit, which was significantly wider than my natural waist.

So when I finally gave in and tried these pants with an untucked top, I was surprised and ended up being really happy with the result. The balance of the draped pant and fitted top works well here, and if I end up getting pants like this with a waistline at my natural waist then I’ll definitely try tucking those in, but until then…untucked it is!

Tip: Don’t stick to your style comfort zone because it’s easy. Keep in mind what parts of your body you like most, and try to put together outfits that cater to that.

To Tuck or Not To Tuck-7
Also don’t my glasses rock? ZeroUV has so many super cute styles at an affordable price of $9.99. When I saw these I wasn’t sure if they were my style, but then I put them on, and I didn’t want to ever take them off. They’re just so fun! I also want this, this, and this, and given the price point I wouldn’t feel bad buying all three.

Leave a Reply

