Graphic Tee Tutorial!

19 Mar

Graphic Tee Tutorial
Before T-Shirt-2
Before T-Shirt-1
Before T-Shirt-3
Shirt: Target
Shorts: American Eagle (similar)
Shoes: Chinese Laundry (similar)
Belt: Unknown (similar)
Sunglasses: Jessica Simpson (similar)

As I mentioned last week, I’ve been really obsessing over all of those cute graphic tees that I’ve been seeing everywhere. So I decided to make some of my own. But apparently I’m not creative enough to come up with fun quotes of my own so I borrowed inspiration from Pinterest. And it was such a fun and easy project with such great results that I wanted to share with you guys.

First you want to gather your supplies:

  • a plain t-shirt (I really like these from Target)
  • fabric paint in your color of choice
  • a sponge paint brush (I’d recommend the kind that’s round and flat on the bottom)
  • freezer paper (found in the grocery section by wax paper)
  • an iron
  • an exacto knife
  • a cutting mat or cardboard to cut on

So first you’re going to want to design your t-shirt. If you want to make the same one as me you can use this stencil, otherwise it’s super easy to whip something up on word. Grab your roll of freezer paper and cut out a 8.5×11 sized piece. Put it into the printer so that it’ll print on the non-shiny side.

Once you have your image printed you can cut out the template. This is probably the most time consuming part, but it’s well worth it I promise. If you made your own template you might have little pieces of paper for the holes in certain letters like o p b and d, just make sure you save all those.

Before T-Shirt-1-2
Once everything is cut out, lay your stencil on your shirt, I placed mine about an inch down from the neck, but that’s completely up to you of course. Now grab your iron, put it on the highest setting you can without steaming it, and carefully iron the whole paper down to your shirt. The plasticized side will stick to your shirt, and seal it so no paint will go under the stencil. This stuff is a godsend, and I’ve gotten crisp clean designs almost every single time.

Before T-Shirt-2
Once you’re sure its ironed on completely, slip a square of freezer paper inside your shirt so no paint leaks through onto the back, and grab your sponge and paint and go crazy! Make sure to focus on covering everything evenly with paint.

Before T-Shirt-6
When you’re done, wait for the paint to completely dry to avoid any smudging, and then peel off the stencil. And that’s it! You’ve got a customized unique shirt that all your friends will be envious of. If you have any questions about it feel free to ask! Also if you’d like to see more pictures of the stencilling process you can also refer to my last stencilling tutorial for my patriotic shorts.

7 Responses to “Graphic Tee Tutorial!”

  1. Pearls and Peacocks March 19, 2014 at 2:13 pm #

    Question. I am not too familiar with freezer paper. Will it be painfully obvious which side to iron down? I assume its the shiny surface that goes down.

    • Mega R. March 19, 2014 at 2:36 pm #

      Hi Kanae! So freezer paper has a matte side that looks like normal printer paper, and then a smooth shiny side that looks like laminated paper and they’re pretty easy to tell apart. And yes the shiny side goes down against the fabric. Also I’d love to see pictures if you end up making a shirt!

      • Pearls and Peacocks April 15, 2014 at 2:27 pm #

        What size font is your lettering?

      • Mega R. April 17, 2014 at 1:54 pm #

        Its a mix of different fonts and sizes, but basically I played with the fonts and sizing until it took up most of an 8.5’x11′ page.

  2. Fancy Nancy March 19, 2014 at 5:00 pm #

    Omg! This is awesome! And super easy! Love this idea! ❤

  3. susanmahlburg March 19, 2014 at 7:00 pm #

    Such a great idea! I have been obsessing over J. Crew graphic tees for the past few years, and I bet my husband will be happy if I start being a bit more DIY and budget-conscious!

    http://www.susanmahlburg.com

  4. Krystin March 19, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

    I love this tutorial, I have been looking for one of these for so long now so thank you – and your tee turned out great, I will share pics with you if I end up doing one of these, thanks again! Lovely blog 🙂

    http://www.girlinbetsey.blogspot.ca
    -Krystin Tysire xo

Leave a Reply

