Building a Wardrobe: Shorts, Pants and Skirts Everyone Needs

18 Oct

Well this took me significantly longer than I had initially thought it would, but here is part 2 of the Building A Wardrobe series. You can check out part 1, which gives a breakdown of the must-have tops, here.

bottoms

As I mentioned in the previous post, these are the pieces that I personally cannot live without, but depending on your activities and preferences, your list might vary. I like that all of these bottoms are very versatile and can be easily paired with a wide variety of tops.

I can’t live without my skinny jeans. I pretty much live in these Forever 21 ones. I know I know, these are pretty low quality on the scale of jeans, but I have a big butt and small waist, and  so for me, shopping for jeans really stinks. So I go for the ones with the most stretch, and still belt them most days. The Forever ones work well for me because they don’t stretch out too much after a couple wears.

Cardigan Sweater-18

I also love my boyfriend jeans. I own a lot of feminine pieces and the looser fit on these jeans makes them a perfect match for a more fitted, feminine top. The incorporation of a more masculine bottom can instantly make an ordinary outfit something more fashion forward.

Bleached Jeans Part 2-5

I also think white denim is a huge wardrobe must. Sometimes with my clumsiness white pants can be as much of a curse as a blessing, but I can’t deny how sharp they make any look appear.

Oh colored jeans, how I love you so. I love that you can incorporate color in a slightly different and unexpected way with colored jeans, and I’ve found that even the slightly wackier, or the really bright colors can be a great purchase. This yellow jean was an investment buy for me because the color is so versatile, but I also bought a bright mint jean at Forever 21 that I got a ton more wear out of than I expected.

All Purpose Colored Jeans-10            Color Mixing - Analogous Colors-1-2

I’m not normally a huge shorts person, so there aren’t a huge number in my closet, but the ones that I definitely can’t live with out  are just my plain denim shorts, and then my tweed shorts that have a little higher than normal waist. I like that the tweed ones offer a dressier look that’s kind of different, and denim shorts are just a must-have in everyone’s wardrobe.

Casual White Tee and Shorts-1-2 untitled-3

I love skirts. I love how fun and girly they can be, and I love the huge variety of different skirts that you can get. So it was very hard for me to narrow it down to my favorites, but here’s what I ended up with.

A black pencil skirt is a must. It can be paired with nearly any top and still look fantastic. You can pair it with a graphic tee, a plain t-shirt, a button up, a blouse, or something a little more blinged out. It’s a great basic piece that can be repurposed in so many different ways.

Lazy Print Mixing-2

Everyone needs a little print in their lives, and a fun printed skirt is a great way to incorporate prints. Also if you can find one that’s just slightly above the knee, that’s pretty much the most flattering length on anyone.

Playing with Floral Print-5

And then to round out your skirt collection, a long maxi in a neutral color. This one from H&M is just perfect. The length is good, the fabric is nice, and it has pockets! What more could a girl want?

Styling with Emerald-4-2

Here’s where you can find all of these pieces for your own wardrobe:

Skinny Jeans: Forever 21
Boyfriend Jeans: Asos
White Jeans: Levi’s
Colored Jeans: 7 for all Mankind/Forever 21
Jean Shorts: Calvin Klein
Tweed Shorts: Gap
Black Pencil Skirt: Target
Knee-length Print Skirt: Target
Long Maxi Skirt: H&M

I hope this part of the series was helpful, and I’d love to hear some of your wardrobe must-haves that I may not have mentioned here, or any of the pieces that I did mention that you really can’t live without.

Leave a Reply

