How to Style a Printed Pencil Skirt

15 Aug

waystostyleaprintedpencilskirt

Since I was obsessing about this Forever 21 skirt earlier, I figured that it was only fitting to do another one of my “Ways to Style” posts. You’d think a bright yellow print might not get as much wear as something more neutral, but the print makes it more fun and less professional than a typical black or gray pencil skirt, so you can pair it with so much more!

Yellow Skirt + Graphic Tee-2
1)Wear it with a loose graphic tee.
This is a really simple way to dress down a pencil skirt. I like that while the words on my t-shirt add some fun to the outfit they don’t take away from the beautiful floral print on the skirt.

Yellow Skirt + Sleeveless Button Up-1
2)Pair the skirt with a sleeveless top.

You can easily take this skirt into the night by pairing it with a tank top or a sleeveless button-up like I did here. The zebra print works well because while it’s a bold print, the colors are from the same color palette as my skirt.

Yellow Skirt and Cardigan-5
3)Belt it and Layer over a sweater.
Because the sweater is rather simple, I added a thin belt to draw the eye in to the waist. I love this particular outfit because of the fun back detail of my “sweater” (check out this post to see what I mean).

Yellow Skirt + Striped Tee-4
4)Pair the skirt with a striped t-shirt.
Once again, the striped shirt goes with just about anything! If you don’t believe me, go back to my 9 ways to wear a striped shirt post.

Yellow Skirt + Cardi-2
5)Layer under a shirt and belted cardigan.

I love cardigans, but it frustrates me that they usually don’t look as figure flattering from behind. Here I belted my cardigan so I have a clean look from the front as well as the back.

Pencil Skirt Pop-5
6)Tuck a chiffon button-up into the skirt.
I always love a chiffon; they’re the perfect amount of transparent. This one was just a perfect match because the light lavender just really made the bright yellow of the skirt pop. To see the breakdown of this outfit, check out this post.

Other great pairings would be a chambray and a peplum. I really love the way peplums look with pencil skirts, but unfortunately since I’m so picky with my peplums, I didn’t have one that matched.

Leave a Reply

