American Flag Inspired Shorts Tutorial

4 Jul

DIY Patriotic Shorts Tutorial

I’m not sure when I saw flag inspired shorts for the first time, maybe last year around the 4th of July, but I do know that from that moment, the wheels in my head began spinning. I really wanted a pair, but I needed the right occasion to really galvanize me into crafting mode.

So I made myself a pair to complete my 4th of July outfit. They were really simple, and came together quickly. For those of you who have never stenciled before, here are a few tips to make the process easier.

I swear by freezer paper for all my stenciling projects. You will find it in any grocery or convenience store near the wax paper and foil. I’ve tried a lot of different things and found that out of everything, I get the cleanest lines with freezer paper. But for those perfect lines you have to take your time ironing, and make sure that the steam setting on your iron is off.

Make sure to slip a piece of freezer paper inside each leg so you don’t get paint staining the back (though the denim should be thick enough to avoid this anyway).

When I did these shorts I used plain acrylic paint mixed with fabric medium. That’s what I typically end up using as I have tons of acrylic paint from various art projects and it’s easier for me to just buy a tube of fabric medium (which basically converts normal paint into fabric paint), than buying fabric paint in all of the colors that I need. Choose what works better for you.

I think I’ll probably go back and do the pockets in the future, but until then I’m loving these shorts. Check back tomorrow for an outfit post featuring my new patriotic shorts!

Leave a Reply

