Pretty in Peplum

20 Jun

Pretty in Peplum -2

Pretty in Peplum -6

Pretty in Peplum -1

Jeans : Macy’s (similar)
Peplum Top : Express (similar)
Shoes : Jessica Simpson (similar)

I love fit and flare dresses, and even though a peplum top is pretty much a fit and flare top, I usually have mixed feelings about the trend. A peplum piece has to be cut perfectly to be flattering and even if it’s a tiny bit too short, or the waist is too high or low, the style starts looking funky.

So that’s why I was ecstatic when I found this cute top at Express. The length is just right, the fact that it’s sleeveless elongates the torso more, and the black panels at the side make it even more slimming. This is my go to fancy but not too fancy top and I’m surprised I haven’t featured it on the blog yet. What do you guys think? Is peplum on its way out or is it here to stay?


P.S: I just opened an Instagram account! Still trying to figure out how everything works, but you should definitely follow me! My account is dressuponacloudyday and here’s a link.

P.P.S: These pictures were taken last weekend when I was in San Diego for graduation! It was great to go back and see everyone and graduate officially (for those who don’t know I technically finished in December). I might post some pictures from our graduation photoshoot on Instagram so keep an eye out for them :).

2 Responses to “Pretty in Peplum”

  1. Elizabeth June 22, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    I agree with you that a peplum has to fit perfectly to be flattering. I love the style, but haven’t managed to find that perfect fit yet! Looks great on you 🙂

  2. Sage June 25, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

    Beautiful! This colour is perfect for your skin tone and hair colour. I agree with your opinion on the fit and flare trend, especially because I have a high waist that is a full ten inches smaller than my bust, so I have yet to find one that flatters me. This one looks fantastic on you, nicely styled!

    ~Sage

Leave a Reply

