Tie-dyed Jeans – A Happy Accident

31 May

Tie-dye Jeans - A Happy Accident-2

Tie-dye Jeans - A Happy Accident-9

Tie-dye Jeans - A Happy Accident-3

Jeans : Unknown (see original here)
Shirt : Gap
Shoes : Unknown

Yesterday I had a ton of work to do, and in standard Mega fashion I came up with a good way to procrastinate. I decided I was going to try to bleach an old pair of jeans that I never wear because it’s an odd wash, and turn them into a brand new white pair of jeans. But things didn’t end up exactly as planned.

Tie-dye Jeans - A Happy Accident-10

I only had a small amount of bleach at home, but I figured might as well give it a shot and mixed the bleach with enough water  to submerge my jeans. Turns out leaving jeans all crumpled up in a smallish bucket with bleach ends up turning them tie-dye, even if you’re moving them around every 30min or so. I ended up leaving the jeans in the bucket for almost 20 hours and didn’t bother with mixing them after the first 4 hours or so.

Tie-dye Jeans - A Happy Accident-1

The end result is kind of cool, but I wish the front looked more evenly tie-dyed like the back does. I think I’m still going to try to bleach them to white, but before that I wanted to take these fun jeans for a spin.

3 Responses to “Tie-dyed Jeans – A Happy Accident”

  1. Kristina June 1, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    They turned out really cool, especially the back. I’ve never bleached anything so my stuff would probably end up tie dyed too. Bleaching a pair of jeans white is a great idea rather than going out and buying a new pair!

    Kristina does the Internets

  2. Highland Fashionista June 1, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

    Yep, that’s a happy accident all right. Well done you!

  3. Ndikim June 2, 2013 at 4:08 am #

    lovely.

    http://www.stylemekim.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

