Unveiling of My New Hair

28 May

beforehaircut

Do you remember how I mentioned that I was obsessing about straight bangs in my 5 things about me post? Well, you gals gave me that little push that I needed to feel confident about getting them cut! And the salon I was going to was offering a great deal, so I decided to get highlights for the first time as well.

beforeandafterhaircut

Unveiling of New Haircut-9

Unveiling of New Haircut-5

Unveiling of New Haircut-7

Top : H&M (check in store)
Pants : Macys (similar)
Shoes : Abella
Belt : Forever 21

Aren’t the bangs fun? They’re definitely a completely different look for me. At first I wasn’t sure what to make of it, but after staring at them in the mirror for a little while I’m really loving them. I think I might take some scissors and trim the sides so they’re more straight and less U-shaped though. I’m going to wait until I wash and style it myself to see, but I think if the bangs were straight across instead of slightly curved on the sides they might be more flattering.

As for the color my stylist recommended balayage instead of traditional highlights, for a more subtle natural look and I really like how they came out. Balayage is basically a technique where the stylist handpaints the color directly onto the hair instead of using foils. And since the highlights done this way don’t go all the way up to the roots, they’re much more natural looking and they’re also low-maintenance!

Unveiling of New Haircut-11

My new hair makes me feel like I’ve stepped off the pages of a magazine! It’s funny how the smallest of changes to your hair can make such a huge difference. Now I just have to see if I can replicate the styling at home.

12 Responses to “Unveiling of My New Hair”

  1. Niru May 28, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    OMG ITS AMAZING!! 😀 super sexy!! and very, very flattering 😀 aww, man, now i want to get bangs xDD but maybe i’ll try something new.. like short hair? ❤ ❤ ❤ can't wait to see you in person!!!

    • Mega R. May 28, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

      Yayy I’m glad you like it :). You should get bangs and short hair!

  2. Alex May 29, 2013 at 2:49 am #

    Beautiful!! That cut and color looks great on you!

  3. Elizabeth May 29, 2013 at 9:02 am #

    Ahhhh! Mega you look amazing, bangs definitely suit you! That top is also really cute – love!

    • Mega R. June 2, 2013 at 10:02 am #

      Thanks Elizabeth! I was obsessing about this top when I saw it on H&M’s website, and so I was so excited when I finally saw it in stores.

  4. Ritika May 29, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    Nice haircut! You look very edgy with those bangs!
    risingcolors.blogspot.in

  5. Staysi Lee May 30, 2013 at 8:52 am #

    love the new cut so stylish!

  6. Varsha May 30, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

    I love your bangs! I think they suit you so well, and I’m glad you decided to cut them, it makes me want to take more hair risks!

    • Mega R. June 2, 2013 at 9:31 am #

      Thanks! You definitely should :). Hair risks are great because they can be such a drastic change but at the same time they always grow back.

  7. Cara May 31, 2013 at 8:54 am #

    It looks incredible! I absolutely love the bangs on you!

    xx Cara
    http://www.carascliche.com

  8. Highland Fashionista May 31, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    Love it. the bangs suit you perfectly, and the colour is lovely and subtle. Well-played!

  9. Julie June 5, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

    LOVE the new ‘do!

Leave a Reply

