Indian Traditional Wear

26 May

I have a little bit of an unusual post for you today, but I hope you enjoy it just the same!

Indian Cultural Wear-1

Indian Cultural Wear-4

Indian Cultural Wear-2

Growing up in the U.S. with a close circle of Indian family friends, my formal party attire has always been mixed: sometimes dresses and skirts, and sometimes in traditional Indian clothing. Indian traditional clothing ranges from an Indian styled skirt and top called a gaghra, salwars which are like a tunic and a matching pant, half-sarees (a pseudo saree that’s really a skirt that you then wrap a short piece of cloth around), and the well-known sarees.

IndianTraditionalWear

For me sarees were always the Holy Grail. Sarees are typically worn by adults, so I had to wait to reach a certain age before being able to wear them, but now that I’m old enough, I can’t get enough of them. For those of you who aren’t familiar with sarees, they’re literally six yards of fabric that you pleat and fold into an outfit.

They’re typically paired with a matching underskirt and a blouse. There was a time where a blouse was made of the same fabric as the saree, but nowadays it’s more typical to wear a contrasting, but still matching blouse. Here I grabbed an older blouse that I had, did a little bit of alteration to open up the back a little more, and paired it with this saree.

Indian Cultural Wear-6

Sarees are amazing. They look flattering on anyone and any body type, and there’s so much room for self expression in them. You can pleat and wear a saree in multiple different ways depending on how you want it to hang and what parts of the saree/your figure you want to show off. And then you have the blouses that can completely transform the look of a saree from old to young.

I guess you could say the closest equivalent to a saree that you can find in western fashion is a convertible wrap dress, but even that can’t possibly come close to capturing all of the richness, culture, and color you can find in sarees.

This particular saree I wore for a wedding I attended yesterday, and I’m always astounded how comfortable they are. 6 yards of pleated fabric, a few pins and a blouse, and still I had no issue rocking it up on the dance floor.

P.S. I’m excited to tell you guys that I booked an appointment on this Tuesday to get me some straight bangs. I’ll also be coloring my virgin hair for the first time! So keep your eyes out for an unveiling of my new hair come Tuesday.

P.P.S. Be sure to let me know in the comments if you’d like to see more posts like this in the future!

8 Responses to “Indian Traditional Wear”

  1. Jordan May 26, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    Beautiful! Sarees are gorgeous and I had no idea there are so many different types of Indian formal wear! Great post!

    xx

    http://thattallgirlinheels.com

    • Mega R. May 28, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

      Yep, there’s so much variety! It makes dressing up all the more fun 🙂

  2. Kimbercrafts May 27, 2013 at 6:46 am #

    You look beautiful! I love the pink and green together.

    • Mega R. May 28, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

      Thanks Kim 🙂 Since they’re sort of complementary colors, they make each other pop all the more!

  3. Highland Fashionista May 27, 2013 at 8:35 am #

    Diana Vreeland once said that “pink is the navy blue of India”, and you can see why. It looks stunning against your skin colour. Yes, please more posts about your heritage. I am recently back from SE Asia, and was always amazed at the beautiful clothing the Indian women would wear. I learned something today, as I didn’t know the differences between the half-sari, salwar, etc.

    • Mega R. May 28, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

      Thanks Kristin! I’m normally a girl who loves bright colors and prints, and I’m sure that part of that is because I grew up wearing so much bright, culturally rich clothing.

  4. Elizabeth May 27, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    Absolutely gorgeous! I didn’t know there were different types you could wear. I love these type of posts, it’s always fun to learn a little 🙂

    • Mega R. May 28, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

      Thanks Elizabeth! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

