8 Ways to Mix Prints

24 May

Been collaborating with some fantastic bloggers for the past few weeks to put together a great post for you guys and I’m really happy with the end result. I’m sure you guys won’t be disappointed.

printmixingcollaboration

Print mixing is one of those things that fashion magazines often make sound more intimidating than they actually are. It’s really quite simple.

Use the following tips to help guide you:

  • Pair together similar colors.
  • Polka dots, stripes, and animal prints can be treated almost like solids : they go with pretty much anything.
  • Pick one bolder pattern and keep the rest more neutral and simple.
  • Play with the scale of prints by mixing a small print with a larger one.
  • Use a solid colored piece like a belt or a jacket to break up different prints.
  • Choose prints that have one color in common for effortless print mixing.

 

print mixing-1

print mixing-11

print mixing-5

Polka Dot Pants : Old Navy (similar)
Top : Charlotte Russe (similar)
Shoes : Unknown (similar)

In my outfit, I paired my polka dot pants with a floral top. Since I paired a small scale polka dot with the larger scale, bolder floral print, the effect of the print mixing was subtle and not at all jarring to the eye. I also picked patterns that were all in the same color story, which makes the outfit feel more like one unified piece and not like a modge podge of different elements.

I would typically recommend staying with 2 prints, but because my polka dot print was so subtle, I added a little extra pop with a graphic pair of flats.

print mixing-8

A good way to dip your toes in print mixing is to find yourself a bag, scarf, or pair of shoes with a fun print. Since all these pieces are on the smaller side, it’s easy to pair them with any printed pieces that you may already have in your wardrobe. Just keep those style tips in mind and you’ll be golden.

Don’t forget to check out the rest of the featured bloggers print mixing outfits:
Kristina from Kristina does the Internets
Reid from The Fashion Blender
Cayli from Nightchayde
Elizabeth from Undeniably, me
Brittany from Piece, Love and Sole
Terry from Oh, Ivory
Jo-Anne from Myself Expressed

I plan on organizing another collaboration post similar to this one in June so if you think you might be interested shoot me an email at dressuponacloudyday@gmail.com. Looking forward to hearing you all!

17 Responses to “8 Ways to Mix Prints”

  1. Elizabeth May 24, 2013 at 8:19 am #

    You look beautiful Mega! Gorgeous outfit. Thanks again for organizing this, you’re amazing πŸ™‚ Would definitely want to do this again!

    • Mega R. May 24, 2013 at 9:32 am #

      Aww thank you Elizabeth! I had a lot of fun and I’m super proud of what we all made together. Looking forward to working with you again πŸ™‚

  2. Jo May 24, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    Really lovely Mega!

  3. Theresa May 24, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    Mega, I love the colors in your outfit! Thanks so much for helping organize this collaboration. πŸ™‚

    I agree with you that for those that are print-shy, starting out with accessories or shoes is good accent.

  4. Ndikim May 25, 2013 at 5:48 am #

    Beautiful is the word.

  5. Scarlett May 25, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

    Thanks so much for posting this! It was definitely helpful for someone like me who is a little scared to take the plunge and start mixing patterns since most people don’t where I live.
    xo, Scarlett

    • Mega R. May 28, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

      I look forward to seeing print mixing outfits from you in the future Scarlett!

  6. Jordan May 27, 2013 at 12:43 am #

    Great tutorial! It can be so daunting sometimes to mix prints but with this tutorial I know more people will tackle this style and rock it!

    xoxo

    http://thattallgirlinheels.com

  7. DressCode:HighFashion May 30, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    Great post & I fully agree with the mixing-principles.

    Best, Jenny

  8. Tianna May 30, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

    love those polka dot pants!

  9. Niki May 30, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

    Mixing prints is one of my favourite things! How fun to collaborate with other bloggers too!! Check out the ifb links a la mode…that’s where I found you πŸ™‚

  10. Caity @ Moi Contre La Vie May 31, 2013 at 6:15 am #

    This is one of my favorite trends for Spring & I adore all of your suggestions. Those polka dot pants are fabulous, what a great find! πŸ™‚

  11. Street Fashion Paris June 4, 2013 at 6:23 am #

    Alsome mix!!! congrats on the IFB!!!

  12. Dana Buchmiller September 3, 2013 at 4:05 am #

    Thank you so much for this article! I am absolutely clueless when it comes to mixing prints, and this article is a major help. I’ll definitely be sharing this. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I’m Reading #1: Ten Fashion Blog Posts That I’m Loving | Colorful Glamour - September 4, 2013

    […] 8 Ways to Mix Prints –This post is from dressuponacloudy.com. I have always been terrified of prints, especially mixing them together in one outfit. These 8 tips are pure genius. I can’t wait to start utilizing them! […]

  2. Weekend marvels | - December 13, 2013

    […] Dress Up On A Cloudy Day: 8 Ways to Mix Prints […]

Leave a Reply

