On Clothing, Accessories, and Mothers

13 May

On Clothing, Accessories, and Mothers-5

On Clothing, Accessories, and Mothers-10

On Clothing, Accessories, and Mothers-6

Dress : Ross(similar)
Shoes : Abella
Belt : Forever 21

Been on a serious dresses kick as of late! Just the other day I was thinking to myself, Mega why don’t you have any cute summer dresses in your wardrobe (turns out this is partly because my little sister decided to “borrow” some of them and take them back to school with her). But over the last few days I’ve been finding cute dress after cute dress. You’ll see some of my other great steals over the next few days.

I grabbed this dress off the rack when I was standing in line to pay because the color was just irresistible, but when I got home and tried it on I was torn. It’s ridiculously comfortable, but it just seemed like it was a little baggy. So I added a belt to break it up a little and now I love it. It was the perfect thing to wear yesterday when spending the day out with two fantastic mothers (my own, and my nephew’s).

On Clothing, Accessories, and Mothers-7

Tip : Never underestimate the power of a good belt. The look of this dress could be transformed completely by using a different color/style of belt instead.

I have decided that my next shopping trip will be a solely accessories one. I typically head straight for the clothing because they’re more instant gratification and it can feel like you’ve gotten more bang for your buck, but the truth is that accessories are the secret superstars. One outfit can be completely transformed by just switching out your accessories.

Of course the best accessory of all is the kind that brings a big smile to everyone’s face : an adorable baby!

On Clothing, Accessories, and Mothers-1

This Mother’s Day I celebrated with my mom, my amazing cousin, and her 8-month-old baby boy. He is the cutest thing and I’m so happy that I get to be here to watch him grow up.

Happy belated Mother’s Day to my cousin who celebrated her first Mother’s Day as a mother, to my Mom who celebrated her 22nd, and to all the other mothers and to-be mothers out there. I know I’d be completely lost without mine (probably literally since she’s constantly finding me things that I’ve lost), and I’m sure that all of the other daughters and sons out there feel the same way, whether they say it or not. I love you Ma!

P.S: Go Golden State Warriors!

5 Responses to “On Clothing, Accessories, and Mothers”

  1. Kristina May 13, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    Yellow looks great on you!!

    Kristina does the Internets

    • Mega R. May 13, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

      Aww thanks Kristina! I think mustard’s a great color for darker skin tones.

  2. Virpal May 13, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

    I want to steal that baby!

    • Mega R. May 13, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

      Ha! I’m not even sharing, let alone letting you steal him. Isn’t he cute though? He might be coming for grad 🙂

    • Mega R. May 13, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

      And I love how the first comment you make on my blog is concerning a baby rather than what I’m wearing ❤

Leave a Reply

