Modern Take on a Flapper Look

9 May

Modern Take on the Flapper-9

Modern Take on the Flapper-6

Modern Take on the Flapper-3

Dress : H&M
Shoes : Hillard and Hanson (similar)
Headband : Cloudblooms
Necklace : Unknown

I’ve been super excited about The Great Gatsby movie ever since the trailer came out last year, so when I realized that the midnight premiere was today it was a no brainer that I’d go. The opulence of the film, that Carey Mulligan is the perfect Daisy, that the movie featured one of the biggest Bollywood stars, andย  that I’d get the chance to “go back” to high school English just made this movie a must see for me.

And seriously midnight premieres are just so much fun to go to. So once I’d gotten everyone on board, I focused on my next order of business, dressing up for the premiere. The fashion of the 1920’s is just as iconic, if not more, as the Great Gatsby book itself, and honestly when else would I get the chance to really go all out twenties?

Last minute as it was, I scrambled together an outfit with what was in my closet, and I love the outcome.

Modern Take on the Flapper-10

My favorite part of this outfit is probably my hair. I’d been missing my short hair a lot as of late, but I really want to grow it out, so I’ve left it alone for the most part. To reference the typical short hair of the twenties, I put my hair into a faux bob and curled it to shorten it further. I took the bottom half of my hair and braided it into two braids, then pinned them down flat, and curled the top half of my hair. I basically loosely followed this tutorial by the beauty department which has great pictures.

While a little more time-intensive than my regular hair routine, I think I might play with this hairstyle again in the future.

5 Responses to “Modern Take on a Flapper Look”

  1. EMA May 10, 2013 at 7:30 am #

    This is such a lovely interpretation of a flapper look. You pull it off perfectly ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://www.themirroronthewall.com

  2. Elizabeth May 10, 2013 at 7:38 am #

    Gorgeous look! Did you like the movie? I want to go tonight I’ve been looking forward to it all year!

    • Mega R. May 10, 2013 at 9:08 am #

      Hey Elizabeth! I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would, but it’s definitely worth seeing at least once. Carey Mulligan is the perfect Daisy. I’d love to hear your thoughts on it once you see it!

  3. Sabrina May 12, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    I absolutely adore this look. You styled the dress so gorgeously with the accessories! And you have a really nice smile ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sincerely,
    Sabrina

    • Mega R. May 13, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

      Thanks Sabrina! The accessories really make the outfit don’t they?

Leave a Reply

