Why Wear a Vest?

24 Apr

Outfit with a Vest-6

Outfit with a Vest-11

Outfit with a Vest-8

T-shirt : Target

Necklace : Forever 21 (similar)

Shorts : American Eagle (similar)

Vest : Unknown (similar)

Shoes : Kenneth Cole Reaction

For the longest time, I didn’t understand the appeal of vests. Especially the big puffy ones. Why would someone want the warmest part of their body warmer but not want to cover up their arms? It made no sense to me.

While I still don’t understand the appeal of thick bulky vests, I think the lighter ones are great layering pieces. Think of them like an airy cotton scarf: they  don’t offer much warmth, but they add an interesting detail to an outfit. While I’m still on the hunt for the perfect denim vest, I’m enjoying styling this crochet back vest in different ways.

Outfit with a Vest-7

It was in the mid-80s here yesterday, so I wanted an outfit that I wouldn’t melt in, but at the same time I didn’t want to just throw on a t-shirt and shorts. I think this was a great was a great compromise, and a perfect way to wear a vest.

Tip : Don’t overwork any outfit with a vest, especially if you’re using a vest with a lot of detail work like this one.Use it as the focal point of your outfit and then add a few other little pops.

Outfit with a Vest-13

I wish I’d gotten a good shot of the back of the vest, but it’s this really pretty crochet lace that really pops with the teal peaking out from underneath.

Leave a Reply

