Gold Isn’t So Bad After All

13 Apr

Gold Isn't So Bad After All-20

Gold Isn't So Bad After All-4

Gold Isn't So Bad After All-10

T-Shirt : Target
Necklace : Forever 21
Shorts : Similar Style / Similar Fit
Cardigan : Forever 21 (similar)
Shoes : Unknown

I’ve never been a gold person. Or at least I’ve never really wanted to be. I grew up being forced to wear big chunky gold earrings that would weigh down my earlobes to every Indian party I attended.

It always felt like I was wearing them to show them off, more than anything else. Today, I typically forgo wearing a lot of jewelry at Indian gatherings, but even looking around I sometimes feel like people wear the jewelry for the sake of wearing it. To say that “Hey look! I have enough money to buy expensive things”. Not that some of it isn’t gorgeous, and maybe the stuff that doesn’t strike me as appealing just doesn’t match my taste level, but whatever it may be, gold often leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

Gold Isn't So Bad After All-11

So when I saw this necklace, my first instinct was to look around to see if there was a similar style in a different tone metal. But when I found the same piece in a silver tone, it didn’t speak to me the same way this one did.

Gold Isn't So Bad After All-18

So I’ve decided to stop hating gold just because of the idea of it, and really give it a chance. I think what really sold this for me was the clean modern lines. It doesn’t look overdone and heavy. It just looks pretty.

Gold Isn't So Bad After All-3

Tip: Take some of the plain t-shirts that you have and dress them up with a unique statement necklace. Different necklaces suit different necklines, so just experiment and see what works with the pieces you have.

This necklace is the perfect accent to scoop neck tops because of the rounded shape. It almost looks like it’s part of the shirt itself, which I really like.

4 Responses to “Gold Isn’t So Bad After All”

  1. Highland Fashionista April 13, 2013 at 1:41 am #

    I love it. Forever 21 has some great accessory choices for a song. I used to feel the same way about gold as well…..instead of Indian parties, I always associated it with those super-tan ladies you see down in Florida who look like they are wearing their full complement of jewellery all at once…ring on every finger…..stacks and stacks of bracelets. Like you say, wearing it for the sake of it. But I, like you, am coming around.

    • Mega R. April 13, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

      Forever 21 is one of my favorite stops for statement necklaces! I used to love the rings there, but they all turn my fingers green so I had to stop with that. But yes, we shouldn’t avoid gold just because we associate it with people overloading on it. I think small touches of it actually look really pretty. I’m definitely going to play with it more in the future.

  2. Alexa April 13, 2013 at 8:02 am #

    I love this necklace. I love gold, and I think it looks great on you!

    • Mega R. April 13, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

      Thanks Alexa! I’m definitely going to try out some more gold jewelry in the future :).

Leave a Reply

