My Little Gray Dress (LGD)

19 Mar

My Little Gray Dress-7
My Little Gray Dress-6
My Little Gray Dress-3
Dress : Tulip Hem Raglan Sleeve Dress from Express
Necklace : Macy’s
Wedges : Charlotte Russe
Hobo Bag : Unknown

According to all of the fashion magazines, websites, and blogs, everyone’s supposed to have that perfect little black dress right? The one that can be worn for any occasion and makes you feel like a million bucks? Well I’ll let you in on a little secret: I don’t own one.

Instead, I have a little gray dress. I find it so much more versatile than the typical LBD. I wear can dress it down with some flats, boots or wedges; and I can dress it up with fun heels. To me, this gray dress is the perfect blank canvas that can be painted on in any way that I wish.

My Little Gray Dress-2
Tip 1: An easy way to put together an outfit effortlessly is match your shoes to another one of your accessories. You can do this with a neutral dress, like this one, but also with bright clothing.

My Little Gray Dress-4
The cut of the dress is extremely flattering as well. The ruching on the side hides all one’s lumps and bumps, and the length is perfect: not too long or too short. Express sells it in a million different colors, and I own both this gray and a blue and black cheetah print. Readers, this is the only dress in my wardrobe that I have two of. That, in itself, should tell you how awesome it is.

My Little Gray Dress-8
Now I ask you to take a look at my eyes. I actually have dark brown, almost inky black, eyes, but today they’re a light purply brown, thanks to colored contacts. I’m always a little torn about colored contacts. I love having fun with my appearance and changing things up, but then I feel like with colored contacts I’m treading a fine line. Eyes are such a defining feature; the windows to the soul, everyone says. And changing them, to me, feels equivalent to getting a nose job for a day. What are your feelings on them?

My Little Gray Dress-9
Tip 2: If you decide to ever wear colored eyeliner, don’t make the same mistake I did this morning and make sure to put mascara on afterwards to cover any eyeliner that may have ended up on your eyelashes.
After the photoshoot today, I had to run back upstairs today and fix it before I left the house.

2 Responses to “My Little Gray Dress (LGD)”

  1. Niki March 19, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

    Cute<3
    http://www.loveniki.com

  2. FreeUrCloset March 19, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    Love the cut of the dress and how you accessorized 😉

Leave a Reply

