Handmade and Houndstooth

11 Mar

Houndstooth and Handmade-6
Houndstooth and Handmade-2
Houndstooth and Handmade-8
Houndstooth and Handmade-1
Houndstooth and Handmade-4
Dress : Forever 21
Tights : Forever 21
Shoes : Macy’s
Scarf : Made by me

I normally wear this dress with a backless bra but I wanted to try something different this time. I think that in the future I’ll stick to the backless bra. I feel that the bandeau cheapens the dress a little. I’m really happy with the rest of the outfit, though. Black and white prints are really in right now and I think the scarf adds the perfect pop of color.

Tip: Invest in some printed and colored tights that are on trend for this season. They’re an easy and inexpensive way to incorporate trends into your outfits and dip your toes into something that might be a little outside your comfort zone.

The scarf I made using the GAP-tastic cowl pattern and was really such a quick and easy knit. I finished after only three days of sporadic knitting. You cast on 131 stitches onto size 13 circular needles and just keep alternating between a knit and purl stitch until you run out of yarn. I used 2 skeins of Lamb’s Pride bulky yarn and I love how soft and warm it is. If you’re a beginner knitter or have always wanted to learn, this is a great first project.

3 Responses to “Handmade and Houndstooth”

  1. onceuponanoutfit March 11, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    I can’t believe you made that scarf! It’s beautiful! Also I love your blog name 🙂

    • Mega March 11, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

      Thanks! It’s inspired by my name which means clouds. I love yours too! I’m a total fairy tales and Disney girl so I definitely smiled when I first saw it 🙂

  2. ILpiccoloMONDODICRI March 13, 2013 at 7:33 am #

    wow you know how to made a pretty scarj, you have a pretty interesting name, you are so pretty and stylish!!! Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

