Shopping in Your Own Closet

9 Mar

How to Pull off a Bulky Cardigan-4How to Pull off a Bulky Cardigan-1
How to Pull off a Bulky Cardigan-3
How to Pull off a Bulky Cardigan-5

Shirt : Target
Cardigan : Unknown
Jeans : Forever 21
Flats : Macy’s
Purse : Coach via my mom

My mom noticed that I’ve been wearing a lot of cross-body bags lately, so she  fished out this Coach bag from the back of her closet. I love how soft and rich the leather is. It’s almost 10 years old…does that make it vintage? I’m typically not a Coach girl because I tend to associate the brand with bags covered with labels, but this bag is great.

This cardigan was also hidden in the depths of a closet (this time mine), but that was because it had an awkward hood attached to it. I think my sister bought it and decided she didn’t like it, so I took it. I told her I wanted it because of the color, but really I took it because I’m a pack-rat. I was cleaning out my closet the other day and didn’t really want to get rid of it, so I cut off the hood  instead. I was surprised how much of a difference it made.

Tip: Belting cardigans is a great way to define your figure. If you have a more rectangular figure I’d suggest belting chunky cardigans because they emphasize your curves more.  If you have a curvier figure, the lighter cardigans tend to be more flattering as they add less bulk.

4 Responses to “Shopping in Your Own Closet”

  1. Ceri April 14, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

    I cam e across your post on IFB. So true, shopping your own closet is the easiest way to be sustainable and really makes sense. I love the bag. I have quite a few pieces of clothes that my mum has given me.

    • Mega R. April 15, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

      Hi Ceri! Thanks for stopping by. Moms are the greatest huh? 🙂

  2. Tamara Chloé April 16, 2013 at 7:21 am #

    Hi girlie

    this post is really great!
    I tend to buy and buy for my blog and to keep up with the latest trends
    These are such great tips and the bag and cardi are great!!

    xoxo Tamara Chloé

    http://tamarachloestyleclues.blogspot.nl/

    • Mega R. April 17, 2013 at 10:05 am #

      I know what you mean Tamara! I find that often my first thought when I look at my closet is that I have nothing to wear, though that is never really the case. I believe that thinking of different ways to style old pieces makes you see the versatility of your entire wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

