Looking Professional at 13° F

3 Mar

Dressing Professionally in Cold Weather-002

Dressing Professionally in Cold Weather-3

Dressing Professionally in Cold Weather-1

Dressing Professionally in Cold Weather-2

Sweater : H&M
Coat : Calvin Klein
Scarf : H&M
Skirt : Macys
Boots: H&M

A few weekends ago, I made a trip to Boston. Now you can imagine this born and bred California girl’s panic when she learned that not only had there recently been a blizzard in Boston, but also that it was going to be cold and snowing the weekend that I was there. So I the warmest clothing I owned, still expecting to be freezing my butt off.To my surprise, I was relatively warm for most of my trip. So I figured I’d recreate and breakdown my outfit for you guys.

If you’re ever in my shoes, this is what I’d recommend. I brought both pants and a skirt but when it started snowing I went for the skirt because I didn’t want my pants dragging in the snow. Mind you I layered a pair of thermals, a set of leggings and a pair of socks under my tights; so they were probably warmer than my pants would have been anyway. A warm sweater and scarf, topped off with a thick wool coat that I bought for my winter in France, kept me functioning in the torturous cold weather. Yes I’m a complete wimp in the cold.

Oh and don’t be a complete dork like me and make sure to wear shoes that are comfortable, waterproof, and long. Mine were none of the above and I very much regretted that. I loved my weekend at Boston, but I’m definitely not missing the weather

Here’s a question for those of you who actually live in colder climates: how do you deal with the weather?

Leave a Reply

